Cashew Carrot Ginger Soup with Brown Rice & Lentils

The days are growing colder as we approach the holidays and all I want is cookies, pasta, and things I can’t eat. So I’m trying to find comforting meals that are easy to cook, don’t take too many ingredients (helps save the bank) and will keep my belly happy. 

I stumbled upon this recipe on Pinterest by Katie at the Kitchen Door and fell in love. The brown rice and lentils give the meal a bit more “umph” and adds some protein to fill you up. I was rather tired this evening so I simplified the recipe a few ways. Instead of making the soup, I used store bought Pacific Organic Cashew Carrot Ginger. Not as clean as I would like, but it works. Instead of the yogurt topping I used Nancy’s Organic Cultured Sour Cream.

Here is my version. Enjoy!!

Organic Cashew Carrot Ginger Soup with Brown Rice & Lentils         Serves 2

  • 1 box (32 fl oz) of Pacific Organic Cashew Carrot Ginger Soup
  • 1 cup cooked lentils
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice 
  • Organic sour cream, for serving 
  • Fresh minced cilantro, for serving 

Warm soup over medium heat in a saucepan. Once soup is at at your preferred temperature, scoop 1/2 cup of brown rice into each bowl. Pour soup over the rice, then top with lentils, sour cream and cilantro. 

Leave a Reply

